Would you want to know when and how?

This week, I learned that a long-time friend was diagnosed with liver cancer and given three weeks to live. Now, he is in his eighties and has lived a great life. He has children, grandchildren, and great-grandchildren. He was a reknowned professor at Miami University and made such a positive impact in so many lives.

Two weeks ago, a great friend’s father-in-law had a sudden heart attack and passed away. These two scenarios raise the question ( as debbie-downer as it may sound), would you prefer to know when and how you are going to die, or it’s a complete surprise. Does it even matter, it’s not like we are given the choice anyway. …

Since I am married, I believe I would want to know when I am going to pass, so I can say goodbye to family and friends.  Morrie Schwartz brought up that point in the famous book Tuesdays with Morrie.  I think having the opportunity to say goodbye gives the opportunity for some closure.  My wife and I have had situations when we did not get to say goodbye, and it bothers us tremendously.

If you did know when, would it change how you view the present and the future?  Would love to hear your comments and reasoning.  Take care.

 

-Ron

Leave a Reply

