Reading about self-improvement is good, sticking to the plan is much better…

In a self-discovery this summer, I realized that I do a great job about reading self-improvement books, but a lousy job of executing the action plans.  I take bits and pieces for implementation (here are some of the books I am referring to).

This is a pattern I want to change.  Because it is not just about self-improvement action, it is also about diets, exercise, and the other plans that I have not followed through to completion on.

Starting in July, I made the commitment to the year-long process of reading and implementing the “Scrolls” laid out in the best-selling books by Og Mandino (The Greatest Salesman In The World and The Greatest Secret In The World)

The process that Mr. Mandino presented was the following for 30 days:

1.  read the same scroll for 30 days, 3 times a day

2.  in the last reading, read it aloud

3.  record how many times you read the scroll each day + grade yourself on applying a given principle

4.  record any appointments and achievements for the week

I am happy to report I have completed the first 30 days.  I plugged in appointments for my three daily readings, which helped keep me on track.

This first scroll was “I will greet this day with love in my heart.”  The given principle to apply was to silently say “I love you” for each person I interacted with.

My discovery was….when I made this silent statement, it helped relax me for the interaction.  If I forgot to do it, hopefully I had some carryover effect from recently doing it.  If I did not have the carryover, I definitely felt the difference in my presentation.

I would to say I completed 90 readings….but I did not.  But 78 is not too shabby.  I will continue to work to improve this %.

I have now embarked on the second Scroll “I will persist until I succeed”.  The given principle this month is to not leave work without having a success to leave on.

Now that I have made this commitment public, I hope those of you reading this will check in with me and help hold me accountable.  I would appreciate this greatly.

Is there anything you would like me to hold you accountable for?  Any success stories in completing self-improvement plans?  What difference did it make in your life?

Look forward to hearing from you.

Ron

One thought on “Reading about self-improvement is good, sticking to the plan is much better…

  1. Pingback: Personal 30-day fitness challenge | Siliko's Splendid Shorts

Leave a Reply

