I am no Lewis & Clark, but I thwarted the great Lab escape

Last Friday, January 10, I went out early in the morning to shovel a beautiful new
fallen snow off of our sidewalk and driveway.  I decided to let the
dogs play in the backyard while I completed the shoveling.

As I was wrapping up, Lucy started barking.  I thought it was because
she was getting cold, but when I went to the fence I noticed Woody was
not roaming the backyard.  I then realized Lucy was alerting me to the
great escape.

I took Lucy in the house, and then did a quick walk-through the
neighborhood with no success.  I then returned to the house to get
Lucy and resume the chase.

During these escapes, my main concern is we live very close to US
Highway, and it gets quite busy with automobile and commercial truck
traffic.  Not a good place for dogs to be casually exploring.
13745_171574445842_6821381_n
As Lucy and I began our search, we found Woody’s paw prints in the
snow.  Lucy got the scent and our tracking adventure had begun!

I can tell you this for sure, Woody does not walk in straight lines,
not ever.  As we weaved and bobbed through the neighborhood, around
buildings, stopping at many trees, the tracks led us across the
highway.  After following more unusual paths, we had lost the course.
It was now almost 7a and people were getting up to do their daily
thing.  Lucy and I headed for home feeling defeated.

Luckily on our way home, we found the tracks again.  They went back
across the street going towards our house.  Perhaps we could find him
this time…

As we were yelling his name, Woody burst into view and came running
towards us.  I leashed him up, feeling grateful to see him, and mad
that he had not come to us sooner as we were calling his name.
Judging by the path we followed, I think he kept running away from us,
thinking this was a game.

The hole in the fence has been patched, but I am sure there will be
more adventures ahead.  I just hope the dogs do not get hurt (or
worse) or picked up by strangers.  They may think it is fun to run,
but it is tough on their owners.

I would love to hear about any great escapes from your pets.

R

Leave a Reply

