Cheating, or Preparation to Win (even against young children)?

“The will to prepare to win is more important than the will to win.” –Bob Knight

I write this quote because I am building my defense…..I hate to lose…..even to my children.

Ryan gets a Highlights magazine once a month.  We enjoy reading each issue and playing the activities inside together.  It is a really great magazine and one that I enjoyed as a kid.  A feature that we particularly enjoy is finding hidden items within a bigger picture.  The items are on the left page, and the bigger picture to search for the items is on the right.

Ryan and I make it a contest to try and find each item first.  Ryan is pretty smart….so he will take the time to try and “quick-find” the item, name it aloud, and then say “I found it” before I even get my eyeballs to move from left to right.  So….he’s pretty clever.

Today, Ryan left the magazine on the floor.  I went to the picture page and memorized where each item is located.  I can’t wait to play this game next so I can beat him.

We compete like this in many of the games that we play.  Some people may not like this, but I want Ryan to learn how to compete.  The fact he is already learning the angles of games to give himself an edge indicates it is important to him.  I don’t want him to cheat and break rules necessarily, but I want him to learn about working hard and doing his best.  We talk about hustling all the time, hustle can make up for a lot of shortcomings.

I would love to hear your thoughts about your competitions with your children.  Have a great day!

 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Here are a couple of my most viewed posts.

Click here for my book review of Toughness:  Developing True Strength On and Off the Court by Jay Bilas

Click here for my book review of The Power of Negative Thinking by Bob Knight

Click here for my book review of Bo’s Lasting Lessons:  The Legendary Coach Teaches the Timeless Fundamentals of Leadership

Brothers should bunk

-I am the author of The Basketball Match Up Zone and Multi-Purpose Basketball Offense ebooks.

-If interested in having me work with your organization on coaching, leadership, or customer service, please call me at 513.330.0319 or email at ronsiliko@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

