The Power of Sharing…the Good Feelings Come Back to You….

Last week, I received an important reminder on the value of sharing your knowledge with others.  In the days following, I have thought about this conversation often during a lag in my day.

Basketball Coach Artemus Duncan in Louisiana called me for the first time in several months.  He had been intrigued by my Basketball Ball Match Up Zone Defense videos I posted on YouTube, and we had multiple phone conversations about installing the defense and how to cover certain offensive tactics (see my previous blog post about this defense).

I wondered how his team had done with the defense, but I made the mistake of not calling and following up.  This was poor service on my part, as well as a missed opportunity to learn from Coach Duncan’s experiences.

Fortunately, Coach Duncan took the time to call me, and share his experiences.  Their team made a nice run in the state tournament and had considerable success throughout the year.  Coach Duncan felt this defense played a major role in their success, as well as this additional video about pressing defense strategies.  It was a wonderful conversation and one that I will continue to seek out.

The cycle of sharing…it is a wonderful thing.  I have learned from so many people about the game, it was to give back and share with others.  I had a particular challenging day when Coach Duncan called, and this perked me right back up.  Thank you Coach Duncan!

I would love to hear your stories about Sharing.  Have a great day!

 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Here are a couple of my most viewed posts.

Click here for my book review of Toughness:  Developing True Strength On and Off the Court by Jay Bilas

Click here for my book review of The Power of Negative Thinking by Bob Knight

Click here for my book review of Bo’s Lasting Lessons:  The Legendary Coach Teaches the Timeless Fundamentals of Leadership

Brothers should bunk

-I am the author of The Basketball Match Up Zone and Multi-Purpose Basketball Offense ebooks.

-If interested in having me work with your organization on coaching, leadership, or customer service, please call me at 513.330.0319 or email at ronsiliko@gmail.com.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

