Busted! (But thankfully not….)

I frequently bike to work.  I find it is a wonderful way to get into flow with the intensity of attention needed to react to stimuli.  I also get some exercise and save money on gasoline.  I highly recommend it if your commute allows it.  I also listen to some sort of inspirational podcast.  On my way home, it is a nice way to de-compress before going into super-daddy mode.

More often than not, I do not wear a bike helmet.  Yes, I know I should.  Helmets protect your head.  It’s silly not to, right?  I live in a small town, so I am recognized when I do not wear it.  I just never wore a helmet, even as a kid.  This seems like a generational thing…or a rural thing.  Knock on wood, I have never had a crash were I knocked my noggin’.

One of my co-workers, Terri Shannon, frequently reminds me about this.  Last week, Sabrina Jewell, one of our Rec Center members, pulled me aside and told me how important it was for me to protect myself because I am father.  She also shared a personal story that brought the point home.  Funny, my wife never says anything….just kidding…she reminds me as well.

Besides the safety concerns cited, they all have echoed “if you expect your boys to wear bike helmets, you must do it as well”.  And that’s the reason I will do it.  I do want my boys to wear helmets.  I do not want to be a hypocrite.  This little poem is always with me as I strive to be a good father.

A Little Fellow Follows Me by Lee Fisher

A careful man I want to be,
A little fellow follows me;
I do not dare to go astray,
For fear he’ll go the self-same way.

I cannot once escape his eyes,
What’er he sees me do, he tries;
Like me he says he’s going to be,
The little chap who follows me.

He thinks that I am good and fine,
Believes in every work of mine;
The base in me he must not see,
The little chap who follows me.

I must remember as I go,

Through summer’s sun and winter’s snow;
I’m building for the years to be
That little chap who follows me.

Thanks to these people who care and are tough enough to coach me, I will make the effort to fix this habit.  I would love to hear about a hypocritical habit you want or have broken.  Have a great day!

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Here are my top six blog posts:

 

Leave a Reply

