Trust Your Process….Second Thoughts often lead to playing catch up

Over the last two weeks, I refined and defined my morning routine.  I want to be up at 4a to complete at least two of my projects before going to work or being daddy.  I try to map out my day the night before so my subconscious is aware.  Often, I am up before my alarm goes off.

This morning presented an opportunity that I did not take advantage of.  Ryan woke me up yelling “daddy, daddy, help me, help me!”  Because (a):  it sounded like an emergency (b):  I did not want him to wake up Sawyer (c):  he was calling for me, not mommy; I jumped from my bed quick as a flash to see what ’twas the matter.

After feeling my way through the darkness, I found a light and turned it on before going up the stairs (no toy monsters grabbed my feet today) to Ryan’s room.  The “emergency” was that Jeffrey the giraffe fell out his bed.  He could have bent over out of bed to pick it up, that’s how close it was.  Nevertheless, I am always happy to see him so I did what he asked and told him to go back to sleep.  What amazes me is how he knows when one of his pets has fallen out of bed….it’s dark and he has around 15 stuffed animals or toys in bed in with him.

After returning to bed, the clock said 3:39a.  Ryan had gotten me up just before my alarm, what a wonderful opportunity!  Instead, I rationalized that I needed more sleep and reset the alarm to 5a, which then became 5:26a after snoozing the alarm multiple times.  The Ryan wake up had me feeling fresh and raring to go….laying down and sleeping extra made me groggy.  Also, I forgot that I have a meditation/reflection time around 6a in which I get a nice refreshing power nap.

After getting going, I was not able to accomplish much this morning, and felt like I started the day behind.  The lesson I learned is…..trust the process I have laid out.  I gave it a great deal of thought and I am extremely focused and productive when I do so.  If a process is not working, you learn from it later and make changes as needed.  Trust YOUR process.

I would love to hear about any processes you use to get the most out of your day.  Take care and thank you for reading.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

