Don’t Take Your Mama’s Name In Vain

lords name

Growing up, if you lived in a religious family, or a church-going family (yes, they can be mutually exclusive), or a God-fearing family, you were told never to take the Lord’s name in vain.

“Don’t take the Lord’s name in vain, God-dammit.”

Over the past few months, Ryan and Sawyer have taken Mommy and Daddy’s name in vain.  When Jen or I tell the boys no, their response is inevitably “Mama said I (we) could”.

“Can I have a popsicle Daddy?”

“No, it’s too sweet to eat right before bed.”

“Mama said we could.”

“Oh really, well if Mama said, ok.”

Jen comes around the corner moments after I open the popsicles.  “What’s going on here?”

“The boys said you gave them permission to eat popsicles.”

“No I didn’t.  You fell for their trick again?!”

I fell for this ruse a few times, and then was subjected to a lesson in parenting from Jen. We agreed to confer with each other and try to discuss what we talked about with the boys.   Now when I hear this, I just tell the boys “She did?  I will have to check with her.”

I love the battle of wits, even though I often lose.

Books I’m reading right now.

Thank you for reading, have a great day.

 

 

Leave a Reply

