The Siliko boys 2.10.17 Sledding Adventure

 

Sometimes, you just have to take your best guess and make a decision.  Spoiler Alert:  It was not a tough decision.

Earlier this week, I wrote about some ways we have taken advantage of many warm days this winter.

Wednesday night, we got a rare (for this winter) snowfall that covered the grass.  I thought about sledding on Thursday, but it was cold enough for me to think we would not be able to stay outside too long.  We then had Ryan’s basketball practice in the evening.  Ryan asked me on the way home from practice when we were going to go sledding and have a snowball fight.

Friday, I happened to be off of work.  I looked at the 10-day weather forecast.  There was not a day below 45 degrees.  This would take us to nearly the end of February, and while we have had snow in Ohio in May, I could not take the chance on missing this chance before the snow was going to melt, which was forecasted to be late afternoon on Friday.

I talked to Jen Friday morning.  My plan was to get Ryan on the bus, take Sawyer to school, and then go to the park to see how much snow was left on the hill.  After the drop off, I was happy to see there was very little grass showing on the hillside.  I came home and excitedly packed up the car, including a jug of hot chocolate.

I picked up Ryan and Sawyer around 1230p (yes, I picked them up from school early).  They were both very surprised and excited.  We stopped at my friend Dan Rambo’s house to pick him up and put on our snowsuits for our adventure.

While the temperature was right at freezing by the time we got to the park, I was dismayed to see there was not much snow left on the hill.  The sun beams had already gone to work.

Fortunately, there was enough snow that we were able to go down the hill with a decent amount of speed.  We spent the next 90 minutes laughing and cheering each other on.  Dan went sledding for the first time since his daughters were home.  We then refueled with hot chocolate and headed home.  By 4p, almost all of the snow was completely melted.

The fact the boys talked about it the rest of the day made it worthwhile.  If this was our last chance to sled this winter, it was worth it.  If we get another chance, it was still worth it.  I am so thankful the adventure fell into place.

I would love to hear about your winter adventures, have a great day!

Ron’s Amazon Author Page

 

Leave a Reply

